Site Design
January 11, 2007, 10:25 pm
Filed under: Art, Graphic Design, Illustration, Personal Work, Photography

As the school year draws closer to an end, the thought of internships and future jobs is constantly weighing on my mind. I am currently involved in a couple classes to help focus on my online portfolio and physical portfolio. Currently I am designing an online portfolio for my web class and I’ve been having some creative difficulties as of late for some reason. I thought it might be a good idea to post a few pictures of how it’s coming along in hope that some comments would arise.

website1

The first image is that of where the site originally started. However it’s changed a bit and gone in this direction…

website2

This image is where the website has slowly developed to. The sections of the portfolio lie in the bottom red color field and light up to a full white with clicking on the sections. The numbers will act as the different pieces in each section and the tiny gray box to the lower left of the image with act as the rollover thumbnail once the mouse rolls over a number. I was originally looking for a clean, simple look with the interactivity being slightly more advanced than the looks, putting forth an idea of, more than what your eye perceives. However I still feel it needs some flare and individuality which is where the numbers originated from. Not quite sure if it works though. Let me know what you think.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think the flare comes from the white shape in the bottom right corner. It looks like it was painted on, and think the look works well: graphic meets hand painted. I see the numbers as being too refined, and they look somewhat like clock numbers. I would love to see the numbers look like they were painted by hand. Keep up the writing bro.

Comment by Nomadishere




Leave a Reply

